Er. alokpandey's Blog

The login failed. Login failed for user ‘IIS APPPOOL\DefaultAppPool’ on IIS 7.0/7.5

Posted in ASP.NET (C# & VB) by Alok Kumar Pandey on January 21, 2012

The login failed. Login failed for user ‘IIS APPPOOL\DefaultAppPool’ on IIS 7.0/7.5

You are trying to jump start an existing ASP.NET site on a new IIS 7.5 server under Windows 7/7.5 or under Windows 2008 R2, and you are getting this error message: The problem is in IIS 7.5 DefaultAppPool settings.

Windows 2008 Server with IIS 7.0/7.5 runs DefaultAppPool using Network Service user:

Windows 7.0/7.5 and Windows 2008 Server R2 with IIS 7.5 run the same pool under a different user – ApplicationPoolIdentity:

All you need to do is to change that setting on your machine.

Use IIS Admin – Application Pools.
1- Right mouse click on DefaultAppPool row,
2- Select Advanced Settings,
3- A first setting under Process Model group is Identity,
4- Select it and using a drop down list change Built-in account from ApplicationPoolIdentity to NetworkService.

Now check your application log in, it will work

Hope this will work

74 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mils†ein® (@milson) said, on January 21, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Nice Article and its Time saver to lots of Developer who face this problem in Windows 7 Platform 🙂

  2. Kristopher said, on April 25, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    What’s up i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i read this piece of writing i thought i could also create comment due to this good piece of writing.

  3. Niklas said, on April 26, 2013 at 3:00 am

    Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article! It is the little changes that produce the greatest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  4. Anastasia said, on May 18, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    Generally I don’t learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite great post.

  5. Michele said, on May 19, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  6. Dulcie said, on May 21, 2013 at 5:43 am

    Wow, awesome weblog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog glance easy. The entire glance of your website is excellent, as neatly as the content!

  7. Kristi said, on May 21, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    You made some decent points there. I checked on the internet for additional information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this web site.

  8. Latanya said, on May 22, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  9. Dane said, on May 24, 2013 at 6:30 am

    I really like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and exposure! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve you guys to my personal blogroll.

  10. Blanche said, on May 24, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    I love what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and coverage! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  11. Garland said, on May 24, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    Hi! I just want to give you a big thumbs up for the excellent information you have got here on this post. I will be coming back to your website for more soon.

  12. Luca said, on May 25, 2013 at 11:15 pm

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  13. Madeline said, on May 25, 2013 at 11:23 pm

    I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I came across this during my hunt for something concerning this.

  14. Elizabeth said, on May 29, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Awesome issues here. I’m very satisfied to peer your post. Thank you so much and I am taking a look ahead to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  15. Jeannie said, on May 29, 2013 at 3:09 pm

    I just couldn’t depart your web site prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the usual information a person supply for your visitors? Is gonna be back frequently to check out new posts

  16. Brain said, on May 30, 2013 at 3:39 am

    Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. That is a really smartly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I will certainly return.

  17. Lupe said, on May 30, 2013 at 5:39 am

    It’s the best time to make some plans for the long run and it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this put up and if I could I wish to recommend you few attention-grabbing issues or advice. Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to this article. I want to learn more issues approximately it!

  18. Klaus said, on May 30, 2013 at 6:21 am

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  19. Quinn said, on June 2, 2013 at 9:55 am

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  20. Adalberto said, on June 2, 2013 at 10:04 am

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  21. Enrique said, on June 3, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon. Cheers

  22. Hannah said, on June 6, 2013 at 2:14 am

    Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to keep in mind of. I say to you, I definitely get irked even as other people think about issues that they just don’t understand about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , other folks could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

    get money now

  23. Elise said, on June 6, 2013 at 6:41 am

    Do you mind if I quote a several of your blog posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site: https://eralokpandey.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/the-login-failed-login-failed-for-user-iis-apppooldefaultapppool-on-iis-7-07-5/. I’ll aslo make certain to give you the appropriate anchor text hyperlink using your blog title: The login failed. Login failed for user IIS APPPOOL\DefaultAppPool on IIS 7.0/7.5 | Er. alokpandey’s Blog. Please make sure to let me know if this is acceptable with you. Many thanks

  24. Letha said, on June 8, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    After exploring a few of the blog posts on your site, I seriously like your technique of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my website too and tell me how you feel.

  25. Jenny said, on June 9, 2013 at 11:48 am

    It’s amazing to go to see this web page and reading the views of all friends about this article, while I am also eager of getting knowledge.

  26. Florence said, on June 14, 2013 at 6:26 am

    Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  27. Alfred said, on June 14, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  28. Georgetta said, on June 16, 2013 at 7:13 am

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  29. Adolfo said, on June 16, 2013 at 10:59 am

    Do you mind if I quote a several of your articles or blog posts as long as I provide credit and sources returning to your blog: https://eralokpandey.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/the-login-failed-login-failed-for-user-iis-apppooldefaultapppool-on-iis-7-07-5/. I most certainly will aslo ensure to give you the proper anchor-text hyperlink using your website title: The login failed. Login failed for user IIS APPPOOL\DefaultAppPool on IIS 7.0/7.5 | Er. alokpandey’s Blog. Please let me know if this is ok with you. Thank you

  30. Chad said, on June 16, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Cheers!

  31. Shad said, on June 17, 2013 at 5:46 am

    Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

  32. Tara said, on June 17, 2013 at 8:04 am

    If you are going for most excellent contents like I do, only pay a visit this web site daily as it provides quality contents, thanks

  33. Marlene said, on June 17, 2013 at 8:18 am

    Excellent web site. Lots of helpful information here. I’m sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks to your effort!

  34. Hayley said, on June 17, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Hi! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  35. Lora said, on June 17, 2013 at 9:26 am

    It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I’ve learn this submit and if I may I wish to suggest you few attention-grabbing things or advice. Maybe you can write next articles relating to this article. I want to read more issues approximately it!

  36. Zella said, on June 17, 2013 at 9:46 am

    First of all I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Kudos!

  37. Stephen said, on June 22, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    I visited various websites but the audio quality for audio songs existing at this web page is genuinely excellent.

  38. shah said, on June 23, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    thanks

  39. Leon said, on June 26, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    We stumbled over here by a different website and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page repeatedly.

  40. Gertrude said, on June 26, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this page.

  41. Cesar said, on June 27, 2013 at 3:58 am

    hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again soon.

  42. Soccer Workout Plan said, on June 28, 2013 at 6:56 am

    After looking at a few of the articles on your blog, I
    honestly appreciate your way of writing a blog. I added it
    to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Please check out my website too and tell me your opinion.

  43. Serena said, on June 28, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A few of my blog audience have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  44. sports betting secrets said, on June 29, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    This is a really good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate information… Thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

  45. Kelli said, on June 30, 2013 at 5:53 am

    I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this blog on regular basis to obtain updated from most recent gossip.

  46. Aurora said, on July 2, 2013 at 12:17 am

    Thanks for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Glance complicated to far delivered agreeable from you! By the way, how could we keep up a correspondence?

  47. Kieran said, on July 2, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I am satisfied that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  48. Teddy said, on July 2, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

  49. Alecia said, on July 3, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    I am starting a online blog directory and was wondering if I can submit your site? I’m trying to grow my directory slowly by hand so that it retains top quality. I will make sure and put your website in the correct category and I’ll also use, “The login failed. Login failed for user IIS APPPOOL\DefaultAppPool on IIS 7.0/7.5 | Er. alokpandey’s Blog” as your anchor text. Please let me know if this is acceptable with you by contacting me at: evaksa818wjr@hotmail.com. Many thanks

  50. Judith said, on July 3, 2013 at 3:00 pm

    I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing issues with your site. It looks like some of the written text within your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This might be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Thanks

  51. Lydia said, on July 4, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  52. Louis said, on July 12, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    I’m starting a new online website directory and was wondering if I can submit your site? I’m hoping to grow my directory gradually by hand so that it maintains high quality. I will make sure and put your website in the proper category and I’ll also use, “The login failed. Login failed for user IIS APPPOOL\DefaultAppPool on IIS 7.0/7.5 | Er. alokpandey’s Blog” as your anchor text. Please make sure to let me know if this is alright with you by contacting me at: louis.forbes@gmail.com. Bless you

  53. Sherita said, on July 13, 2013 at 10:53 am

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  54. Raquel said, on July 13, 2013 at 10:54 am

    Excellent post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Cheers!

  55. Sherlene said, on July 15, 2013 at 4:53 am

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Regards!

  56. Roberta said, on July 18, 2013 at 6:56 am

    Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. Nevertheless imagine if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this site could undeniably be one of the greatest in its field. Very good blog!

  57. Alma said, on July 18, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    Great website. Lots of helpful information here. I am sending it to several buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you on your sweat!

  58. Joey said, on July 18, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    Quality content is the crucial to attract the people to visit the site, that’s what this site is providing.

  59. Eula said, on July 18, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    Hello there I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a remarkable post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  60. Mattie said, on July 19, 2013 at 3:25 am

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job with this. Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Safari. Excellent Blog!

  61. Stella said, on July 22, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  62. Natasha said, on July 26, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  63. Burton said, on August 1, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    You made some decent points there. I checked on the net for more information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this website.

  64. Susannah said, on August 3, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next write ups thanks once again.

  65. Rachele said, on February 13, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    Tremendous things here. I’m very happy to see your post. Thanks so much and I am taking a look forward to contact you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  66. Booker said, on July 29, 2014 at 7:35 am

    Prettfy nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog aand wishsd to say that I have
    really loved browsinng your blog posts. After all
    I’ll be subscribing on your feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

  67. Toney said, on August 25, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    Hi! I’ve been following your site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent job!


Leave a Reply

